KAPSID – Neko's Blog

Form Follows Function

First Surface Mirror – Still A Very Delicate Job

Today I’ve  given it another try with a full sized mirror. After yesterdays euphoria about turpentine, I did expect this procedure to become a bit less nerve wrecking than the time before. But no. It is one thing to succeed on a piece of off cut acrylic, but a completely other to washing off the back coating of a large sized mirror. Nevertheless have I been very lucky today. I damaged the reflective surface just exactly above the measurements I need for my set up and after inhaling heaps of turps i finally ended up with a relatively good result. The large one stil needs to be prepared though and I am a bit nervous just thinking about it. Here’s the result:

firstSurface

Filed under: Hardware

2 Responses

  1. popel says:

    Gogogogo! Inhale!!!

    Impressive difference in reflecting properties..

    • gabor says:

      Yeah hey… Well, the large one still has its protective foil sticking on the front. If i took it off, you probably couldn’t tell the difference. 🙂

Leave a comment